An Introduction To Vedic Astrology

Most people in the western world are not family with Vedic astrology.  This articles provides an introduction to Vedic astrology and its history.  

Vedic astrology is more than 10000 years old, but no ones knows exactly how old the Vedic period is.  The Vedic time period is still debated, but is considered to have originated in the Indian subcontinent.    Unlike modern science and technology, this Vedic period was the time frame where people used Vedic knowledge in their daily life. There was a set health care system named Ayurveda.  This system is now a very big industry. Astrology or Jyotish is a branch in that Vedic lifestyle. Jyotish means nothing but knowledge of light.

Veda means a lot in Sanskrit. It means sacred knowledge, sacred lore, finding, perception, true knowledge and much more.   The knowledge about Vedas have spread in four texts Rig veda, Yajur veda, Sama veda and Atharva veda. There are so many scriptures from these books mentions   astrology.

Even though there are many texts available about Vedic astrology, Vedanga Jyotish can be considered as main text which is supposed to be originated in the later part of the Vedic era. It is all about astronomical calculations and astrology as well. There are so many other books giving detailed descriptions about astrology like Brihat Parshara Hora Sastra, Jaimini Sutras, Phaldeepika, Uttara Kalaamrit, and Bhrigu sutras.

The western astrology system is ahead of Vedic astrology by 23 degrees. For example, if the Sun in a Vedic birth chart is at 20 degrees Sagittarius.  A western birth chart will show the Sun to be within the early degrees of Capricorn. So, the calendar is quite different between the two systems.  Accordingly, the dates of the months also change.  The two systems are name western and eastern calender’s.  

Western Calendar

Aries Western Zodiac Sign

March 21 – April 20

Taurus Western Zodiac Sign

April 21 – May 21

Gemini Western Zodiac Sign

May 22 – June 21

Cancer Western Zodiac Sign

June 22 – July 22

Leo Western Zodiac Sign

July 23 -August 23

Virgo Western Zodiac Sign

August 22 – September 22

Libra Western Zodiac Sign

September 24 – October 23

Scorpio Western Zodiac Sign

October 24 – November 22

Sagittarius Western Zodiac Sign

November 23 – December 21

Capricorn Western Zodiac Sign

December 22 – January 20

Aquarius Western Zodiac Sign

January 21 – February 19

Pisces Western Zodiac Sign

February 20- March 20


Eastern Calendar (Vedic)

Aries Vedic Zodiac Sign

April 14 – May 15

Taurus Vedic Zodiac Sign

May 15 – June 15

Gemini Vedic Zodiac Sign

June 15 – July 16

Cancer Vedic Zodiac Sign

July 16 – August 17

Leo Vedic Zodiac Sign

August 17 – September 17

Virgo Vedic Zodiac Sign

September 17 – October 17

Libra Vedic Zodiac Sign

October 17 – November 16

Scorpio Vedic Zodiac Sign

November 16 – December 16

Sagittarius Vedic Zodiac Sign

December 16 – January 14

Capricorn Vedic Zodiac Sign

January 14 – February 13

Aquarius Vedic Zodiac Sign

February 13 – March 14

Pisces Vedic Zodiac Sign

March 14 – April 14

Vedic Planetary System

In the Vedic system of astrology, prominence is given to nine planets. Which are known as Nava Grahas.  They are here with their Sanskrit names















North Node


South Node


 Introduction to vedic astrology

Even though these planets can insight into our destiny.  The true results are derived from the placement of Nakshatras or Lunar Mansions which lies behind the planets. At this point, Western astrology students may get confused.  There are 12 signs; planets are traveling through these signs. There are other constellations which behind these planets other than these 12 signs. These constellations are 28 in number. They are known as lunar mansions or nakshatras. Among these 28 nakshatras 27 are known as feminine nakshatra and the 28th one is considered as the male entity. So, for astrology consultation, only 27 nakshatras are taken into consideration.

These 27 lunar mansions or nakshatras makes Vedic astrology more detailed.  However, Western astrology is more easy to understand. In the next chapters, we will study more about Vedic astrology. Vedic astrology chart has 12 houses like the western chart. The matters allotted to each house are almost all the same, but there is much more in Vedic astrology.

This introduction to Vedic Astrology was written by Jaya Shree, a guest poster.



[email-subscribers-form id="2"]

Translate »